Captains, Presidents and national and international honours are each shown on a tab on this website. This page lists other key events in the Club’s history. A full history of the Club’s first fifty years was produced in 1977 by David Egginton and Peter Curchod – there are still copies available.

1927       Formation of the Club, with Steve Fairbairn as President

1928 – 1949 Club is based at a boathouse rented from Bruno Rosewell on Common Plat (now site of TS Black Swan)

1930       Club first competes at Henley (in the Thames Cup)

1937       ‘Tod’ Hollom, R.R. ‘Swat’ Swatton, Frank Wild and P.B. Bingham reach final of Wyfolds

1946       Club restarts activities after WWII but Navy League has requisitioned site of boathouse

1951       Club acquires lease of plot at Sunbury Lane from Miskin family trust

1953       Construction of “old” boathouse (at a cost of £400)

1959       Terry Halls, Eric Church, David Parry and Mike Rosewell reach final of Wyfolds

1963       David Parry initiates “small boats in winter” policy (a characteristic of WRC ever since)

1968       Phil Norman & Mike Brigden represent GB at first FISA Junior Champs

1971       Chris & Mike Brigden win Double Sculls at Henley

1976       First lady members elected; Walton is first non-school club to enter National Schools Regatta

1976       Construction of second boat bay; changing-room extended and leaking corrugated iron roof replaced

1978       First Walton Small Boats Head (and first multi-division small boats head in the country)

1986       Secretary and more than half the volunteer helpers at World Rowing Championships in Nottingham are WRC members

1990       Construction of sculling-boat shed

1993       Steve Trapmore and Steve Lee, with Dan Johnson and Gareth Davis of Burton Leander, win Fawley Cup at Henley

2000       Steve Trapmore strokes GB eight to Olympic Gold in Sydney, ten years after starting his rowing career at Walton

2009-10      Construction of “new” two-storey boathouse on same site

2011       Membership exceeds 300 (up from around 150 in 2008)

2020-21      Rowing activity paused during lockdowns

2021       First women’s crew at Henley (in Diamond Jubilee Cup).  Mat Tarrant and Morgan Bolding (both Walton members but representing Oxford Brookes) win Silver Goblets and Nickalls Challenge Cup, 50 years after last all-Walton win.